The Sisters of the Missionary Servants of St. Joseph under the Columbian Province originally founded St. Joseph’s Day Nursery and Kindergarten in 1957. With the permission and assistance of Former Bishop Peter L. Ireton, three young Sisters left their home country of Spain and came to Falls Church, Virginia to open a Day Nursery. On November 26, 1957, the original “little school” opened with only three students. Times were tough in these early days and the Sisters and the school relied heavily on the care and generosity of the surrounding community to make ends meet.
Over the years, the school evolved into a thriving, vibrant home away from home for over 70 children who have been welcomed daily with open arms and warm hearts by the nuns and the diverse and experienced group of teachers employed at the school.
Of the original six young founders during the initial years of the school’s inception, five remained with the school until 2005, offering services to the children. In February of 2005, the Sisters convened a parent/faculty meeting and announced they would be returning to their home countries or on to other missions in the later summer months. They were sad to be leaving and to be selling the school; however, their valuable skills and presence were needed to fulfill other callings. The nuns, who had arrived nearly fifty years ago, struggling with the language barrier and the uncertainty of whether the school would be a viable program, were now leaving a fully functioning and valuable asset to the community of Falls Church.
The school has since changed hands and is currently owned by a small group of investors who are committed to preserving the legacy that the sisters left behind.